Channel 13 News: Everywhere you are!

Every newscast streamed LIVE!

RUTGERS JOIN: Big Ten Expands To 14 Teams

Posted on: 7:09 pm, November 20, 2012, by

The Big Ten will soon have 14 schools. Rutgers hits the Big East ejector seat, and lands in the Big Ten. A big move up for Rutgers. Rutgers announced its decision Tuesday at a campus news conference attended by Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany, Rutgers President Robert Barchi and Iowa President Sally Mason.

The move follows Maryland’s announcement yesterday it was heading to the Big Ten in 2014. The additions give the Big Ten 14 schools and a presence in lucrative east coast markets.

Follow Channel 13 News on Twitter

Headlines @WHOtv Behind-the-Scenes @WHOhd