PRESTIGIOUS HONOR: Volunteers Inducted To Hall Of Fame

hall of fame

Four Iowans were inducted into the Volunteer Hall of Fame Tuesday.

In a special ceremony at the statehouse Dr. Dick Hettinger the chair of the Iowa Mission of Mercy was honored along with Lamoni resident Shirley Kessel for her work to keep children safe, and Mike Wilson of Cedar Rapids for his work with the community.

This year there was also a special People’s Choice award to pick the final inductee. Leo Chisholm of Osage was chosen through a Facebook vote.  He started the Mitchell County Food Bank in 1985.

“His heart is very big and he does what he does without any fanfare. He has touched lives and made a difference for many individuals and countless families,” Patti Fields with the Iowa Commission of Volunteer Service said.

Being chosen for the Hall of Fame is the most prestigious state-level honor volunteers can receive.

Filed in: News

Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,896 other followers