Weather Alerts

CHECKING IT TWICE: Governor’s List Missing Something

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Monday morning, Governor Terry Branstad stood alongside 7 local leaders to push his plan for property tax reform. Republican Chad Airhart, the Dallas County Recorder, stood in support of the governor's plan. He said, "The governor's plan will promote economic development in Iowa."

The governor's office released a list of 26 Iowans, including county supervisors, sheriffs and other community leaders, who support his plan.

Here is part of the release from the governor's office that lists the supporters:

The growing list of local officials supporting the administration’s property tax plan is as follows:

  1. Chad Airhart, Dallas County Recorder
  2. Kim Chapman, Dallas County Supervisor
  3. Creighton Cox, Urbandale City Council
  4. Jeremy Davis, Ames City Council
  5. Dave Drew, Woodbury County Sheriff
  6. John Etheredge, Johnson County Supervisor-Elect
  7. Brad Gaul, Cedar County Supervisor
  8. Jarret Heil, Marshall County Treasurer
  9. Harold Higman, Mayor of Akron
  10. Don Kass, Plymouth County Supervisor
  11. Jeff Kaufmann, Cedar County Supervisor
  12. Dick Kirchoff, Mayor of LeMars
  13. Jon McAvoy, Adel City Council
  14. Gary Nystrom, Boone City Council
  15. Alan Ostergren, Muscatine County Attorney
  16. Noreen Otto, Newton City Council
  17. Dale Petersen, Mayor of Sergeant Bluff
  18. Guy Richardson, Greene County Supervisor
  19. Adam Schweers, Mayor of Carroll
  20. Dick Sievers, Remsen City Council
  21. Dawn Smith, Mayor of Durant
  22. David E. Steffens, Mayor of Lake Mills
  23. Renee Twedt, Story County Treasurer
  24. Jayson Vande Hoef, Osceola County Supervisor
  25. Tom Walling, Oskaloosa City Councilman
  26. Stan Watne, Wright County Supervisor

Democrats quickly pointed out the list shows no bipartisan support, since not one person on the list is a Democrat. The governor's office didn't deny the claim, but pointed out the list did include one person registered as "no party".