STORM DAMAGE: Branstad Asks For Federal Help


Gov. Terry Branstad is requesting help from the federal government for storm recovery efforts in 19 Iowa counties.

Branstad signed a letter Thursday requesting a Presidential Disaster Declaration for several counties that suffered damage from thunderstorms and flooding between April 17th and April 30th.

A damage assessment done by federal, state, and local agencies shows preliminary damage of $8.9 million that may be eligible for federal help under the Public Assistance Program. Money from that program is used to rebuild damaged infrastructure or pay for emergency work and debris removal.

The 19 counties Branstad asked for the declaration for are: Appanoose, Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Iowa, Johnson, Keokuk, Lee, Lucas, Marion, Monroe, Muscatine, Ringgold, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, and Wayne.

Filed in: News

Topics: ,

Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,750 other followers