Weather Alerts

DISASTER AREAS: Nearly 1/3 Of Iowa Affected

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Nearly one-third of the counties in Iowa have received disaster proclamations from Governor Branstad.

On Friday, he added 6 counties to the growing list of declarations he made this week bringing the total of flood and severe weather effected counties to 29.

A disaster proclamation means state resources can be utilized to help those areas recover from the flooding including the removal of debris and wreckage.

The following is the list of disaster emergency counties:

  • Black Hawk
  • Buchanan
  • Buena Vista
  • Butler
  • Cherokee
  • Clay
  • Clayton
  • Delaware
  • Floyd
  • Greene
  • Grundy
  • Henry
  • Ida
  • Iowa
  • Jasper
  • Johnson
  • Linn
  • Louisa
  • Lyon
  • Mahaska
  • Marshall
  • Mitchell
  • Plymouth
  • Poweshiek
  • Sioux
  • Story
  • Tama
  • Wapello
  • Wright

The Governor ramped up preparation and response efforts Friday by activating the State Emergency Operations Center (SEOC) in Johnston, which enables county agencies to coordinate response activities.

A tumblr website was also created to give Iowans a resource for up-to-date flood information.