DISASTER COUNTIES: More Than Half The State Affected

grays lake flooding

Well over half the state of Iowa has been declared a disaster emergency area.

On Friday, Governor Branstad issued disaster proclamations for 5 additional counties including Appanoose, Lee, Muscatine, Wayne and Webster.

Since stormy weather and flooding began on May 19, Branstad has named 53 counties to the disaster list.

Thirty of those counties have also activated their Individual Assistance Program which gives grant money to affected residents.

For a full list of counties and more information on applying for assistance check the Iowa Department of Human Services website.

Filed in: News

Topics: ,

Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,788 other followers