Severe Weather Alerts

DISASTER ZONE: Branstad Requests Obama Declaration

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Governor Branstad is asking for another Presidential Disaster declaration with the latest one covering nearly half of the state.

The governor sent a letter to President Obama Wednesday asking for 47 counties to be declared disaster zones.

The counties in the request are spread out across the state and suffered damages of an estimated total of $22-million.

Governor Branstad says the areas suffered damage from winds, tornadoes, heavy rain and flooding.

According to Branstad’s office, the damage happened during the storms that started on May 19th. Their release states it covers a period up to June 23rd, that’s this coming Sunday.

Sen. Charles Grassley wrote a letter to the president backing the request for federal assistance.

Five counties received assistance in April after heavy snow and ice storms pelted the area.

The counties this time are Appanoose, Benton, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Davis, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lyon, Mahaska, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Poweshiek, Sac, Sioux, Story, Tama, Wapello, Webster, Winnebago and Wright.