FOOD PRIZE: Winners Announced

world food prize winners 2013

Three scientists have been announced as this year’s World Food Prize winners.

Mary-Dell Chilton is an Indiana native and Robert Fraley grew up in Illinois. The third scientist is Belgian, Marc Van Montagu.

The three will share the $250,000 prize for their independent use of bio-technology to better agriculture.

Officials say their molecular research makes crops more insect and disease resistant and capable of handling extreme climates.

The crops that stemmed from that research have covered 170 million hectares around the globe by 17.3 million farmers.  Most of which are farmers in developing countries.

The winners were announced Wednesday in Washington D.C. They’ll receive their prizes in October during a symposium in Des Moines.

The World Food Prize was created by Iowa native Norman E. Borlaug in the 1980s.

Filed in: News


Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,768 other followers