Weather Alerts

ELECTION RESULTS: Moore Defeats Diebel

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Voters went to the polls Tuesday to cast their ballots in local elections across the state.

In Des Moines, voters had to choose between five people running for the Ward One seat.

ward 1The winning candidate required over 50% of the vote to avoid a December run-off. Sean Bagniewski and Bill Gray will be on that ballot after receiving 36% and 44% of the votes respectively.

In Ward Three, incumbent Christine Hensley comfortably defeated challengers David Rosenfeld and Cal Woods taking around 59% of the vote.

Incumbent Skip Moore was challenged by Chris Diebel for the at large seat. The race between the two became unexpectedly controversial when the Des Moines Register pulled their endorsement for Diebel after he accused the incumbent of failing to fix the franchise fee fiasco during his term.

Moore comfortably held on to his seat with around 57% of the vote. Diebel received 35% and Margret Trowe earned 6%.

at largeIn a statement Diebel conceded saying, “Congratulations to Mr. Moore on his win this evening. I wish him well on his next city council term.”

The $81-million redevelopment of the Polk County courthouse got the green light with 67% of voters ticking “yes” for the upgrades.

These are the unofficial city council results results from across the metro according to the Polk County Auditor’s Office:

Altoona: Michelle Sloan, Kyle Mertz and Jeremy Boka take the three seats up for grabs.

Ankeny: In a tight three-way battle, Kerry Walter-Ashby and Wade Steenhoek get the nod for the two available seats.

Clive: In another closely fought three-way battle, Mike McCoy and Eric Klein take the two seats.

Elkhart: Incumbent Chad Rumbaugh and Brian Shipley, Jr. will take the two seats.

Grimes: Doug Bickford, Ty Blackford and incumbent Jill Altringer will take the three seats.

Indianola: Incumbent Pam Pepper retained the at large seat while newcomers Brad Ross and Greta Southall will fill the Ward 2 and Ward 4 seats respectively.

Johnston: Incumbents Gerd Clabaughand David Lindeman are reelected.

Pleasant Hill: Jeff Mullen and Dean Cooper take the two seats.

Polk City: Robert Mordini and Dan Lane take the two seats.

Urbandale: David Bruce Russell and incumbent Ron Pogge beat Rob Elgin for the two seats.

West Des Moines: Rick Messerschmidt takes the at-large seat by 34 votes over 16-year incumbent Ted Ohmart. Kevin Trevillyan gets the Ward 1 seat with over 75% of the vote. Ward 3 was unopposed and goes to Russ Trimble.

Windsor Heights: Anthony Timm, Steve Peterson and Betty Glover took the three seats up for grabs. Incumbent David Jenison misses out by 22 votes.

The Polk County results can be viewed here.

1 Comment

  • Troy Hendrickson

    Diebel also had the endorsement of an organization whose members in fact played a significant role in the sub-prime mortage mess but are too dishonest to admit it. wouldn’t HAVE BEEN ANY DIFFERENT THAN mOORE REALLY.

Comments are closed.