ROCK & ROLL: Iowa Hall Of Fame Inductees

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The Iowa Rock and Roll Music Association has announced the 2014 inductees into its Hall of Fame and Des Moines made several contributions this year.

KIOA’s Maxwell Schaeffer is one of the inductees this year. He, along with the old Vet’s Auditorium, are in this year’s class. Del “Saxman” Jones of Des Moines will also be inducted.

The Iowa Rock and Roll Hall of Fame is located in Arnolds Park in northwest Iowa and pays tribute to Iowa bands, and the ballrooms and venues which hosted the music.

This year there will be 25 inductees. Schaeffer says he’s proud to be among them, “There are some great bands…but also media personalities…there like our great Dic Youngs who used to work on KIOA and others of course and KIOA is in there as well. To be included among that group of radio personalities…it’s very humbling.”

A ceremony will be held for this year’s inductees over Labor Day in Arnolds Park.

If you’d like to see the entire list of this year’s nominees click here.