Heat Advisory

WHO-HD Earns 3 Coveted 2014 Edward R. Murrrow Regional Awards

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Channel 13 News receives honors for Investigative Reporting and News Series

Station wins 3 out of 4 awards in central Iowa

WHO-HD earns 22 journalism excellence awards so far in 2014…the most of any station in Iowa


WHO-HD was the big Iowa winner as this year’s Edward R. Murrow journalism excellence awards were announced this week by the RTDNA (Radio Television Digital News Association).  Channel 13 News earned 3 regional Murrow awards in the categories of Investigative Reporting, News Series and Use of Sound/Video.  The station received 3 of the 4 Murrow’s awarded in central Iowa and brings its 2014 awards total to 22…the most of any station in the state.

Anchor/Reporter Sonya Heitshusen’s examination into Iowa Economic Development Director Debi Durham’s travel expenses was awarded in the Investigation category.  Sonya and anchor/reporter Erin Kiernan’s reports from the front lines of fire fighter training won in the News Series category.  And, Erin Kiernan’s story about Relay Iowa’s incredible 339 mile run across Iowa earned a Murrow in the Use of Sound and Video category.

”We have dedicated journalists with very high standards at Channel 13 News,” says WHO-HD News Director Rod Peterson. “I could not be prouder of their accomplishments and dedication to central Iowa viewers.”

The entire list and links to see the award-winning stories are below.

WHO-HD 2014 RTDNA Murrow Regional Award Recipients
Investigative Reporting
Durham’s Travels
Sonya Heitshusen, Reporter
Mike Borland, Photojournalist
News Series
Trial By Fire
Erin Kiernan & Sonya Heitshusen, Reporters
Randy Schumacher, Brandon McCauley Lee Rouse, Dave Olson, Travis Jungling Photojournalists
Use of Sound and Video
It Doesn’t Stop Here
Erin Kiernan, Reporter
Randy Schumacher, Matt VanWinkle, Eli Gardner Roger Riley, Photojournalist


Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards national competition which will be judged in May.  National awards, including those for network news organizations, will be presented at the New York Marriott Marquis in New York City on October 6.

Last month, Chanel 13 News earned 19 Eric Sevareid Awards from the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association (MBJA) including 7 First Place and 12 Awards of Merit.  In the coveted categories of Newscast, Weather and Investigation, the 1st Place awards all went to WHO-HD.