Severe Weather Alerts

Governor Proclaims Disaster Proclamation for Six Counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

disaster proclamaition

DES MOINES, Iowa – The latest USDA report shows most of the state is no longer in a drought thanks in part to heavy storms last Tuesday on election night.

More than an inch of rain fell in many areas erasing the last of the drought.

But the heavy rain washed out rural roads in southern Iowa while heavy winds and large hail damaged homes, trees and vehicles.

On Thursday, Governor Branstad issued a disaster proclamation for six counties hit hardest by the storms. It covers Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Mills, Taylor and Wayne counties.

Households that earn under $39,580 may be entitled to $5,000 through the Iowa Individual Assistance Program