More Disaster Proclamations, Request for FEMA Evaluation


DES MOINES, Iowa — Gov. Terry Branstad has issued disaster proclamations for more Iowa counties and is asking FEMA to conduct damage assessments in the hope of receiving federal assistance.

Friday the governor announced Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Franklin, Hancock, Ida, Kossuth, Osceola, Palo Alto, Sac, Woodbury, and Wright counties would now be eligible to receive state resources to respond and recover from recent severe weather.

Earlier this week the governor issued disaster proclamations for Cedar, Lyon, Plymouth, Pocahontas, and Sioux counties.

The Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management has made a request to FEMA to conduct damage assessments in 14 Iowa counties. Public infrastructure will be the assessment’s primary focus.

The counties involved in the assessments are: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Franklin, Ida, Lyon, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Sac, Sioux, Woodbury, and Wright.

Iowa Homeland Security officials say the assessment will likely begin next Thursday, once the water has begun to recede and FEMA personnel are available.

Filed in: News

Topics: ,

Suggest a correction

1 Comment

  • Jody J

    That is Terrible !! I didn’t know the flooding was that bad. Good to hear Our Governor is sending relief.

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,787 other followers