Gov. Branstad Requests Presidential Disaster Declaration for 10 Iowa Counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.


DES MOINES, Iowa — Eleven Iowa counties are under state disaster declarations because of significant damage from storms in June and most could see some federal help as well.

Gov. Terry Branstad requested a Presidential Disaster Declaration Monday for 10 Iowa counties. The counties suffered extensive, wind, hail, tornado, and flood damage during the storms that hit June 3rd and 4th.

Damage assessments are still underway and Branstad says additional Iowa counties could be added to the disaster request. In some areas, floodwaters have not receded enough to make accurate damage assessments.

Presidential Disaster Declarations are being sought for Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Taylor, and Wayne counties.

1 Comment

  • William Denison

    Q: What’s the one thing you will never hear at a Gov Braindead press briefing?
    A: Is there anything you would like to add LT Gov ?
    Think about it.

Comments are closed.