More Disaster Proclamations for Iowa Counties

Governor's Disaster Counties

Scott, Shelby, and Polk counties have now been added to the list of 59 Iowa counties receiving disaster proclamations. (WHO-HD)

DES MOINES, Iowa — Three more Iowa counties have received state disaster proclamations due to damage suffered during June’s severe weather.

The proclamations for Scott and Shelby counties were issued Monday and Polk County was added Tuesday.

A total of 59 Iowa counties received disaster proclamations from the state in June. Three major weather events involving heavy rain and other severe weather caused extensive damage in dozens of Iowa counties.

The proclamations will allow for assistance from the state to repair infrastructure damaged by the storms.

Gov. Branstad has also requested Presidential Disaster Declarations for 10 Iowa counties.

Filed in: News


Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,760 other followers