Branstad Expands List of Iowa Disaster Proclamations


DES MOINES, Iowa — Seven more Iowa counties have been added to the list of disaster areas from storms in the last two weeks.

Wednesday, Gov. Terry Branstad issued disaster proclamations for Audubon, Grundy, Ida, Jasper, Keokuk, Poweshiek, and Washington counties. The counties suffered damage from flooding and severe weather.

That now makes 27 counties who’ve earned that designation since storms on June 26th.

Gov. Branstad also requested that FEMA conduct damage assessments in 20 Iowa counties. The assessments could be used to determine whether a Presidential Disaster Declaration is granted. The counties are: Audubon, Black Hawk, Butler, Cedar, Des Moines, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Mahaska, Muscatine, and Poweshiek.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s