Obama Makes Presidential Disaster Declaration for 26 Iowa Counties

disaster decWASHINGTON D.C. — Barack Obama has approved a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 26 additional Iowa counties impacted by severe weather in mid to late June.

The counties included in the declaration are: Allamakee, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Ida, Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, and Wright.

Each was damaged by a variety of severe weather from June 14 through June 23.

This is the second declaration the president has issued for Iowa this year.

Nine counties also received the designation for storm damage done in early June. They are: Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Mills, Montgomery, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Taylor, and Wayne.

The declaration  opens up more aid to victims. It’s the 20th major Presidential Disaster Declaration Iowa has received since March 2007.

Filed in: News

Topics: ,

Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,789 other followers