22 Additional Iowa Counties Included in Federal Disaster Declaration

WASHINGTON - President Obama has approved a federal disaster declaration for another 22 counties following severe weather in June and July.

Governor Brandstad sent the disaster declaration request to President Obama following severe weather between June 26 and July 7.

The declaration includes: Audubon, Black Hawk, Butler, Cedar, Des Moines, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Mahaska, Muscatine, Poweshiek, Tama and Washington Counties.

It is the third declaration the president has issued for Iowa this year. 35 counties were covered by the two earlier declarations.

The declaration means storm victims can receive federal assistance.

Filed in: News


Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,787 other followers