HALL OF FAME: Drake Relays Inductees

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Four athletes and coaches will be inducted into the Drake Relays Hall of Fame Thursday at 6:15 at Sheslow Auditorium.

The Drake Relays will honor four athletes and coaches on Thursday as they’re inducted into the Drake Relays Hall of Fame.

The 2012 Drake Relays Hall of Fame inductees are:

  • Tommy Asinga, Top middle distance runner for Eastern Michigan in the early ’90s, winning six Drake Relays titles.
  • Edith Nakiyingi, who ran the 800 for Iowa State University in the late ’80s, winning two university/college division titles and two invitational titles.
  • Joey Haines, who coached 26 years at Southeast Missouri State University, helping his athletes secure 11 Drake Relays titles.
  • Victor Thomas, who is currently coaching at Lincoln University where his teams have taken home 35 Drake Relays titles since 2002.

They will be honored in a ceremony at 6:15 at Sheslow Auditorium.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.