High School Football Scores

NEXT SESSION: Democrats Pick New Leaders

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The Democrats in the Iowa Senate gathered to select their leaders on Sunday afternoon.

The group picked Senator Pam Jochum of Dubuque as the next Senate President. She’s the first female Democratic Senator to serve in the position.

Jochum takes the roll from Senator Jack Kibbie, who retired after the last session.

Democrats also re-elected Senator Mike Gronstal of Council Bluffs as the majority leader.

The Democratic Party will hold the majority in the senate when the next legislative session begins January 14th.