Flood Warning

CLEANING UP: Five Counties Get Presidential Disaster Declaration

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Several Iowa counties affected by severe weather nearly a month ago will receive federal help. Governor Branstad announced Monday that Dickinson, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola and Sioux Counties received Presidential Disaster Declaration status.

The governor sent a request for the declaration on April 26 after strong winds, heavy rains, thunderstorms, freezing rain, ice and snow caused severe damage to the northwest portion of the state April 9 through 11.

The declaration will provide funding to the counties and begins long-term federal recovery programs some of which are matched by state programs.

A Presidential Disaster Declaration also gives funding to strengthen infrastructure across the state to mitigate future disaster declarations.

This is the 15th time Iowa has received Presidential Disaster Declaration in the last six years.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.