PEACE OFFICERS: Three Men Remembered

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

The names of three fallen law enforcement officers were added to the Iowa Peace Officer Memorial Friday.

A special ceremony was held to remember the officers.

Stuart Police Chief Robert Smith injured his neck during a struggle with a suspect in 2009, he died from complications of that injury one year later.

Motor Vehicle Enforcement Officer Phillip Adams was hit by a car and killed in 1973.

The third officer Floyd County Deputy Levi Bowers was shot-and-killed in the line of duty in 1916.

“It is with a heavy heart we reflect on the loss of dedicated individuals, but we also know that their sacrifices were not in vain and their memory will forever be eternally remembered,” Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds said in a speech at the ceremony.

Last summer the memorial was moved from the Lucas Building to the Oran Pape State Office Building on East 7th Street.

Governor Branstad also rededicated the memorial since it has a new home.

In 140 years, 169 Iowa Officers have given their lives in the line of duty.