FEDERAL HELP: Disaster Declarations

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

President Barack Obama has approved a request from Gov. Terry Branstad for a Presidential Disaster Declaration.

The declaration covers Allamakee, Benton, Buchanan, Butler, Cedar, Clayton, Delaware, Howard, Jones and Winneshiek counties.

The governor sent the request in response to significant damage that was caused by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in June.

The declaration by the president will provide federal funding to the counties. The money will help pay for debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property and provide grants for public schools.

This is the 18th major Presidential Disaster Declaration Iowa has received since March 2007.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.