BIG 12 CHAMPS: Cyclones Win In KC

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Patience pays off. Cyclones win their first Big XII Tournament Championship in 14 years. It also took a while for ISU to get into the flow of the game, but the final eight minutes belonged to the Cyclones.

Iowa State beats Baylor 74-65. DeAndre Kane finishes with 17 points and 7 rebounds, and was named tournament MVP.

Along with Kane, Melvin Ejim and Georges Niang were named to the All-Tournament team. Andrew Wiggins (Kansas) and Isaiah Austin (Baylor) also made the team.

Iowa State becomes the first team in Big XII history to win the tournament from a seed other than 1, 2, or 3. It's the Cyclones first championship since 2000.

It took Iowa State until 2:37 left in the first half to hit the 20-point mark.

In the second half, Iowa State shot 69.6% from the field and went 4-4 from 3-point range. Cyclones outscored the Bears by 14.


    • J Hart

      Let me enlighten you Joyce. The purpose of a Conference tournament is to judge the strength of the teams right before selection for NCAA tourney. This year, the Cyclones were the strongest team in the Big XII at the end. That is all.

  • Elaina Prochaska

    I am guessing that if Kansas would have won against Iowa State. Which they didn’t . You could have cared less about which word was used. It’s okay Joyce. Maybe Kansas will win the Big 12 Tournament next year. Though I hope not.

  • Kent Abbott

    The text and the video state that the Cyclones won the Big XII TOURNAMENT Championship. The official name of the tournament is the Men’s Basketball Championship. You are wrong twice, Joyce. Enjoy your sour grapes.

Comments are closed.