WHO-HD Earns 19 Eric Sevareid Awards For Journalism Excellence

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Channel 13 News earns 1st place for Best Newscast, Best Weather and Investigation

Station honored with 7 1st Place and 12 Awards of Merit


DES MOINES, IA – WHO-HD was the big Iowa winner at this weekend’s Northwest Broadcast News Association awards gala bringing home 19 Eric Sevareid Awards including 7 First Place and 12 Awards of Merit.  In the coveted categories of Newscast, Weather and Investigation, the 1st Place awards all went to Channel 13 News. The awards were handed out Saturday Night in Bloomington, MN.


Channel 13 News at 5 won first place in the Newscast category while the WHO-HD Weather Team achieved 1st in TV Weather. Sonya Heitshusen’s examination into Iowa Economic Development Director Debi Durham’s travel expenses took first place in the Investigation category. Andy Fales’ report on last year’s Merrill Middle School lockdown earned first place accolades for Spot News while Jannay Towne took first place in Hard Feature for her story about embryo adoptions.  Andy Fales won a 2nd first place award in Sports Reporting and Channel 13 News Photojournalist Eli Gardiner earned first for his compilation of work from 2013.


“I’m humbled by the quality of work the men and women of Channel 13 News continue to achieve,” says WHO-HD News Director Rod Peterson.  “Their hard work and dedication to excellence continues to be recognized not only by our incredible viewers but also by their peers.  I am proud to work with them every day.”


The entire list and links to see the award-winning stories are below.

WHO-HD 2014 IBNA Award Recipients
1ST PLACE Newscast
Channel 13 News at 5
Kelly Kasparie, Producer
Erin Kiernan & Sonya Heitshusen, Anchors
1ST PLACE Weather (TV Only)
WHO Weather Excellence
Chief Meteorologist Ed Wilson
Meteorologists Jeriann Ritter, Megan Salois, Brett McIntyre, Jennifer McDermed
1ST PLACE Investigative
Durham’s Travels
Sonya Heitshusen, Reporter
Mike Borland, Photojournalist
1ST PLACE Spot News
An Unusual Day
Andy Fales, ReporterMike Borland, Sam Musser, Dave Olson, Matt Van Winkle, PhotojournalistsBrandon McCauley, Editor
1ST PLACE Hard Feature
Unusual Adoption
Jannay Towne, Reporter
Dave Olson, Photojournalist
1ST PLACE Sports Reporting
Twins Right
Andy Fales, Reporter
Brandon McCauley, Photojournalist
1ST PLACE Photojournalism (TV Only)
Eli Gardiner Composite
Award Of Merit Broadcast Writing
Andy Fales Composite
Award Of Merit Broadcast Writing
Dan Winters-Writing
Award Of Merit General Reporting
Shady Service
Sonya Heitshusen, Reporter
Randy Schumacher & Lee Rouse, Photojournalists
Award Of Merit Hard Feature
It Doesn’t Stop Here
Erin Kiernan, Reporter
Eli Gardiner, Roger Riley, Matt Van Winkle, Randy Schumacher, Photojournalists
Award Of Merit Photojournalism (TV Only)
Randy Schumacher Composite
Award Of Merit Series
Trial By Fire
Erin Kiernan & Sonya Heitshusen, Reporters
Randy Schumacher, Brandon McCauley Lee Rouse, Photojournalists
Award Of Merit Series
Right Under Our Nose
Stephanie Moore, Reporter
Mike Borland, Photojournalist
Award Of Merit Soft Feature
On The Mend
Dan Winters, Reporter
Randy Schumacher & Brandon McCauley, Photojournalists
Award Of Merit Sports Reporting
Hoop Therapy
John Sears, Reporter & Photojournalist
Award Of Merit Sportscast/Program
WHO NBNA Sportscast
Keith Murphy, John Sears,Michael Admire, Andy Fales
Award Of Merit Talk/Public Affairs
Landon’s Story
Sonya Heitshusen, Reporter
Brandon McCauley & Mike Borland, Photojournalists
Award Of Merit Talk/Public Affairs
Juvenile Dilemma
Dan Winters, Reporter
Randy Schumacher, Photojournalist
About MBJA

The Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association (MBJA) serves Midwest electronic journalists with training, networking and career growth.  The MBJA’s service area covers six states including North and South Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin.  Chartered in 1949 as the Northwest Broadcast News Association (NBNA), the association changed their name in 2014 to better reflect the group’s identity.


  • William Denison

    I think Dave Price deserves a award of merit for his fair and balanced reporting. ….LOL no not really .lol

  • skeptic

    Pity that this excellence hasn’t extended to their website. Incomplete reports, followups are spotty, bad editing, overly dependent on flash and video without meaningful contextual commentary, seem to be the norm rather than the exception.

    The only real bright spot, and the reason I read it, the weather information is sometimes a little more relevant than weather.gov.

    For a professional news organization, your website should be at least on par with your video presentations, otherwise it’s just amateurish blog material.

Comments are closed.