Branstad Requests Presidential Disaster Declarations for More Iowa Counties

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.


DES MOINES, Iowa — Gov. Terry Branstad is asking for more help cleaning up the damage from severe weather.

He requested another Presidential Disaster Declaration Tuesday for 22 Iowa counties.

The counties all suffered extensive wind, hail, tornado and flood damage during the storms that hit on June 26th through July 7th.

The counties that are part of the latest request are: Audubon, Black Hawk, Butler, Cedar, Des Moines, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Mahaska, Muscatine, Poweshiek, Tama, and Washington.

President Barack Obama has already declared 35 Iowa counties federal disaster areas.

The declaration means counties can receive federal recovery aid.

1 Comment

  • William Denison

    We should not be spending tax money on this blah blah blah. These people are just milking us blah blah blah. We as a nation are broke and in debt blah blah bah. This does not impact me why should I have to pay for some other guys farm or flooded city? Blah blah blah . We can’t as tax payers afford this blah blah blah. All people should live and farm on top of hills blah blag blah. If I was Prez I’d say sorry but its just not in our budget to help you folks in Iowa. Blah blah blah.

Comments are closed.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.