SCORES: High School Football Championships

National ‘Blue Ribbon’ Distinction for Four Iowa Schools

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DES MOINES, Iowa — Four Iowa schools have been named 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

The award is given for overall academic excellence or for closing achievement gaps.

This year Gilbert High School, South Central Calhoun Elementary, West Cedar Elementary, and Northeast Elementary in Ankeny were recognized.

In a statement, Iowa Department of Education director Brad Buck said, “Iowa`s Blue Ribbon schools exemplify our state`s hard work to improve and to make sure every door of opportunity is open to all students.”

Three-hundred and thirty-seven schools nationwide were awarded the honor. They will be recognized in November in Washington, D.C.