Georges Niang, Jarrod Uthoff Land on Wooden Award Final Ballot

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Hawkeyes and Cyclones (WHO-HD)

Iowa State senior Georges Niang and Iowa senior Jarrod Uthoff have landed on the Wooden Award final ballot released on Saturday.

A total of 15 players are finalists for the award given to the nation’s top player.

Niang has led the No. 21 Cyclones to a 20-9 overall record and 10-7 mark in the Big 12 this season. The forward is averaging 19.3 points (second in the Big 12), 6.2 rebounds (eighth) and 3.2 assists per game. He’s also the only player in the nation averaging at least 19 points and 6.0 rebounds as well as 50 percent shooting from and field and 80 percent shooting from the free throw line.

Similarly, Uthoff has been a key player in the No. 16 Hawkeyes’ 20-9 overall record and 11-6 Big Ten standing. The forward is averaging 18.4 points (second in Big Ten), 6.4 rebounds (10th) and 2.7 blocks (first) this year. The Cedar Rapids native has scored double-digit points in all but one game this season.

Both teams have one game left on the regular-season schedule as Iowa State will face No. 1 Kansas on Saturday at 3 p.m. while Iowa will play Michigan on Saturday at 7 p.m.

The complete list of players on the ballot:

Grayson Allen, Duke

Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia

Kris Dunn, Providence

Kahlil Felder, Oakland

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana

Josh Hart, Villanova

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Jakob Poeltl, Utah

Melo Trimble, Maryland

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa

Denzel Valentine, Michigan State

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.