DCI Confirms a Body Found in Poweshiek County; News Conference Planned in Mollie Tibbetts Investigation

State Track Day 2, More Records Fall

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.


Friday, May 20  Drake Stadium, Des Moines, Iowa

Weather: Morning session opened at 9 am with temperature at 62 degrees with wind from south-southeast at 6 miles per hour. Temperature reached high of 70 degrees at 5 pm. Winds from southeast at 8 mph.

Attendance: 15,701 (Friday record)    Two-day total: 29,404 (two-day record)



Class 4A shot put -- Erika Hammond, Clinton, 47-1 1/2. Old record 46-11 3/4, Danielle Frere, Muscatine, 2008.

Class 2A discus -- Kiana Phelps, Kingsley-Pierson/Woodbury Central, 172. Also overall meet record. Old 2A and overall meet record 166-4, Phelps, 2015.

Class 3A 4x200 -- Davenport Assumption, 1:41.50. Old record 1:42.74, Dubuque Wahlert, 2015.


Three Titles

Maria Gonzalez, West Hancock -- Class 1A long jump, high jump, 4x200 relay.

Two Titles

Diana Slight, Boone -- Class 3A 400, long jump.

 Kiana Phelps, Kingsley-Pierson/Woodbury Central -- Class 2A shot put, discus.

Okasana Covey, Des Moines Christian -- Class 2A 400, distance medley relay.

Sarah Adams, Davenport Assumption -- Class 3A 4x800 relay, distance medley relay.

Mary Grace Carroll, Davenport Assumption -- Class 3A 4x200, distance medley relay.

Aleenah Marcucci, Northeast -- Class 2A long jump, 400 hurdles.


Aleenah Marcucci of Northest won the Class 2A 400 hurdles for the second straight year.

Cedar Rapids Jefferson won the Class 4A 4x200 relay for the fourth straight year.

Erika Hammond of Clinton won the Class 4A shot put for the second straight year.


Freshman earned the top two spots in the Class 4A long jump, which had only three seniors in the field of 24 competitors. Darby Thomas of Council Bluffs Lincoln won with a jump of 18-7 3/4. Kenna Sauer of Ankeny Centennial took second at 18-4 3/4.


West Hancock senior Maria Gonzalez has been among the meet's most versatile performers. Gonzalez won the long jump on Thursday and added two more victories to her collection today, winning the high jump and running the third leg on the winning 4x200 relay.


Boone's Diana Slight jumps just as well as she runs. Slight repeated her state title in the Class 3A 400 on Thursday, then turned her attention to the long jump today and won that event. Slight jumped 17-6 3/4 to edge Bishop Heelan's Ellie Cropley by 1 3/4 inches.


Clinton's Erika Hammond had a tough time in the Class 4A discus on Thursday, fouling on all three of her throws. But she bounced back in a big way in the shot put, winning the event and setting a meet record in the process. Hammond threw 47-1 1/2 to win the event by more than five feet. Teammate Sydney Laufenberg came in fourth after winning the discus for the third time. She won the Class 1A title in 2013 and 2014 while competing for Clinton Prince of Peace.



Class 1A discus -- Tom Yezek, Northwood-Kensett, 197-5. Old record 184-5, Scott Phelps, Kingsley-Pierson, 1986.

Class 2A 4x200 -- West Burlington/Notre Dame, 1:27.14. Old record 1:27.14, West Burlington/Notre Dame, 2015.

Class 3A 4x200 -- Sergeant Bluff-Luton, 1:27.87. Old record 1:28.40, DeWitt Central, 2011.


West Des Moines Dowling won the Class 4A distance medley relay for the second straight year.

Tom Yezek of Northwood-Kensett won the Class 1A discus for the second straight year.

Cole Moeller of Calamus-Wheatland won the Class 1A high jump for the second straight year.

DeAngelo Jackson of Dubuque Senior won the Class 4A long jump for the second straight year.

West Burlington/Notre Dame won the Class 2A 4x200 for the second straight year.


 Three Titles

Xavior Williams, West Burlington/Notre Dame - Class 2A high jump, long jump 4x200 relay

Two Titles

Tristan Wirfs, Mount Vernon -- Class 3A discus, shot put

JoJo Frost, Center Point-Urbana -- Class 3A 400, 400 hurdles.

Matt Manternach and Derek Manternach, Monticello -- Class 2A 4x800 relay, distance medley relay.


Thanks to Ryan Schweizer's sizzling anchor, Dowling Catholic posted the No. 7 time on the all-time list in winning the Class 4A distance medley relay for the second straight year. Dowling won in 3:26.26 as Schweizer covered the final 800 in 1:49.7. It's the sixth state title for Schweizer, who won four championships at last year's meet and won the 3200 on Thursday.


Sioux City East's 4x200 relay team went through a range of emotions before being declared the Class 4A champion. The Black Raiders appeared to have won the race, then were disqualified and the title handed to Pleasant Valley. But meet officials reviewed the decision and reinstated East as the champion, its first title in the event since 1945. The Black Raiders' winning time: 1:28.28.


The shot put competition produced a noteworthy first. For the first time ever at the state meet, three of the state champions threw more than 60 feet. Nick Phelps of Kingsley-Pierson/Woodbury Central had the meet's top throw -- 61-1 3/4 to win the Class 2A title. Dalles Jacobus of Cedar Rapids Kennedy won the 4A title with a throw of 60-6 and Tristan Wirfs of Mount Vernon threw 60-1 1/4 to win the 3A crown.


Mount Ayr put up a good time out of section one in the Class 1A distance medley relay and dared the first of the field to beat it. They couldn't do it. The Raiders ran 3:36.01 to win the event for the second time in three years, Kyle Dolecheck anchoring in 1:58.5. Mount Ayr finished second to Alta-Aurelia last year.


Tom Yezek of Northwood-Kensett solidly established himself as the top discus thrower in state meet history. Yezek uncorked a throw of 197-5 to set an overall meet record and win the event for the second straight year. That's No. 4 on the state's all-time list and ranks ninth nationally this year. In an interesting twist, the previous 1A record was 185-4 set in 1986 by Kingsley-Pierson's Scott Phelps, whose children, Nick and Kiana, swept the Class 2A championships in both the discus and shot put. The overall mark had been 192-6 by Nick Grayton of Iowa City West in 2007.