Iowa Senate Republicans Announce New Leadership After Bill Dix Resignation

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DES MOINES, Iowa  --  The Iowa Republican Senate Caucus has chosen new leadership following the resignation of former Majority Leader Bill Dix.

On Wednesday morning Jack Whitver was named the new Majority Leader.  Charles Schneider will replace Whitver as the new Senate President.

Dix resigned from office on Monday afternoon hours after a video showing him kissing a registered lobbyist at a Des Moines bar was published online.  Dix is a married father of three.

The Senate Republican Caucus office released this statement after today's private vote:

“All 59 members of the House Republican caucus congratulate Senator Whitver on his selection as Senate Majority Leader and Senator Schneider on his new role as Senate President.  We look forward to continuing our work together on our shared priorities as we reach the homestretch of the legislative session.

Together, with Governor Reynolds and Senate Republicans, we will move forward with our common sense agenda to provide Iowa students with a world class education, ensure Iowans have access to high quality, affordable health care, build a skilled workforce, and reform Iowa’s outdated and complex tax code.”

Meanwhile a former lawmaker has announced she will run to replace Dix when a special election is held to fill his seat.  Republican Annette Sweeney resigned from her job at the USDA this week to allow a run for office again.  Democrat Tracy Freese has also filed paperwork to run for Dix's former seat in the November general election.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.