Three Women are Finalists for Iowa Supreme Court Vacancy

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

DES MOINES, Iowa  --  Iowa is the only state in the union without a woman serving as a Supreme Court justice.  That is about to change.

On Wednesday the Iowa Judicial Branch announced three finalists for the seat soon to be vacated by Justice Bruce Zager.  All three finalists are women.

The list includes Susan Christensen from Harlan, West Des Moines Attorney Terri Combs and Judge Kellyann Lekar from Waterloo.  The three were chosen by the state's Judicial Nominating Commission.  Governor Reynolds will now choose between the three women to fill Zager's seat.  He will retired from the court in September.

The last woman on Iowa's Supreme Court was Chief Justice Marsha Ternus.  She was voted off the court after an organized campaign to fire her and all justices involved in the unanimous ruling that legalized same sex marriage in Iowa.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.