National Water Rule on Hold in Iowa

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Iowa is now a part of 28 states where the Waters of the U.S. (WOTUS) rule is on hold.

Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds announced the U.S. District Court for the District of North Dakota granted her request to stop WOTUS.

In a statement she says, “Now, Iowa farmers and small business owners will not be burdened by this federal overreach while we continue fighting to permanently end the WOTUS Rule.”

The rule was put in place by the Obama Administration and faced immediate backlash from agriculture groups, who claim vague language gives federal jurisdiction over large areas of farmland.

It was put on hold last year as part of Trump Administration deregulation, but went back into effect in Iowa when a South Carolina court ruled the EPA could not suspend the rule.

A group of states, including Iowa, have joined in a federal lawsuit to permanently overturn WOTUS.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.