T.J. Hockenson Wins Mackey Award as Nation’s Top Tight End

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

T. J. Hockenson, tight end for the Iowa Hawkeyes. (WHO-HD)

IOWA CITY, Iowa  —  The best Tight End in college football is once again an Iowa Hawkeye.

On Wednesday, T.J. Hockenson was named the winner of the John Mackey Award as the best tight end in college football.  Hockenson is in the midst of one of the greatest seasons ever by an Iowa tight end.  He’s caught 46 passes for 717 yards and scored 7 touchdowns this season.  He’ll be awarded the trophy tomorrow.

Hockenson is the second Hawkeye to win the award.  Dallas Clark was the recipient in 2002.  Hockenson is the first sophomore to win the trophy.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.