SULLIVAN AWARD: 11 First Responders To Be Honored

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

Next week 11 Iowa first responders will be honored with one of the state's highest awards; the Sullivan Brother's Award of Valor.

The honor is named for the five Sullivan brothers of Waterloo who served together in World War Two. All five were killed when their ship was destroyed by the enemy.

Among those being honored this year are four members of the Iowa Falls fire department.

Steven Henry, Jason Barrick, Tyler Prochaska and Jon Linn pulled a man to safety in June after he was trapped in a grain bin.

Arick Baker was trapped for five hours before being freed.

Three members of three different Jasper County law enforcement departments are also being honored; Sheriff's Deputy Jerry Burdess, Newton Officer Adam Herman and Baxter Officer Joe Bartello.

The three helped pull a truck driver to safety after he crashed into water off I-80 in May.

Three other officers are being honored for their role in a shootout following a bank robbery last October in the town of Maynard.

State Trooper Mark Domino and Sumner Police Chief Dennis Cain were both shot as the suspects ran from the bank.

DOT Officer Benjamin Driscoll is credited with saving Cain’s life by applying pressure to his wounds.

The two suspects were both caught and convicted, and are now incarcerated.

The final award will go to Urbandale police officer Zac McDowell. In March he and a department intern pulled a teen driver from a burning car.

All 11 men will receive their awards from Governor Branstad at an event next Tuesday.


Latest News

More News